ATHEIST PETER AND A BIT OF PEACE

13 Sep

ATHEIST PETER AND A BIT OF PEACE

graveyard photo: 001 grave-yard.jpg

Everyone who knows me is perfectly aware of my stance over gods, deities, magicians, call them what you will. It’s my belief that their power is derived from the imaginations of humanity and not from any eternal magic wand that waves hither and thither in the ether. They do not actually exist. Not even magicians if what they do is magic as defined in dictionaries. That’s my belief and I won’t bore my friends by imposing these views on them too often. Because, if I do I might put at risk something precious to some of them.

You see, not everyone has the same views as me. Not everyone is atheist. Some intelligent people, for perfectly good and sound reasons of their own, believe that I’m wrong. They do believe in gods. I can’t get my head round their persuasion and they can’t get their heads round mine and who’s to say that I’m right and they’re wrong? Certainly not me: I haven’t got so imperfect an ego as that.

You see, it is possible for two diametrically opposed opposites to exist simultaneously and be equally true. I look at it like this: we have our three score plus (a big plus I hope) years on this planet and we die. We end. We cease to be. In my universe that’s it. There’s no escape to another dimension, no Heaven for the good guys to go to and no Hell for the bad. I mean, think of the sorting house with around one hundred and fifty thousand (give or take) people dying every day (do the maths).

A ceasing to be is all there is. Our thoughts, our fondly held beliefs, our convictions of who we are and what we stand for, all go in that final instant and although we may have written them down or recorded them for posterity on some media, they are gone because we have gone. That’s all there is to a human life. Sad, I suppose.

That’s in my universe, but there are others. And some of them are almost certainly better than mine.

What does it matter a jot to anyone if a little old man and woman derives comfort from something they believe in as their life wanes and the darkness begins to fall? Of what possible importance can it be that minds that are closing reach out and try to grasp the only thing that matters at that moment, their comfort from a belief they’ve held their whole lives long? And of what possible significance can it be if that belief is based on reality or ancient legends? What is really importance is that when it actually matters that conviction gives a great deal more comfort than its absence would.

We’re all going to die, of that I’m certain, there’s evidence in graveyards around the world, and we can see, rationally, that those graveyards are all that is left of the dead. But if a person, as he or she approaches that certain ending, can gain assurance and comfort from a god or a dream of Heaven or the hope that old friends will be waiting for them, maybe past generations in their blood-line in serried smiling rows, then what’s possibly wrong with that?

It would take a very bitter and unkind ego to suggest that anything at all is wrong. Life is certainly too short to let philosophy and dreams of gods get in the way!

 Peter Rogerson 13.09.15

Leave a Reply

